Guide to Discord
1. Introduction to Discord
Discord is the chapter’s main communication channel for chapter members, trustees, and the reception. The webmaster is the administrator of the Discord server. If you have any questions or need help, you can contact the webmaster. However, please use this page as your primary source of help.
The server contains different categories and channels. As soon as you gain access to the server, you will have access to the categories “ADMINISTRATIVE”, “TEXTKANALER”, and “RÖSTKANALER”, along with several underlying channels. Other categories and channels are locked and can only be accessed by having specific roles. See how to add roles under point 4.
2. Access to the server
Access to the chapter’s server is available here. Once you have joined the server, you should read the rules in the ‘rules’ channel under “ADMINISTRATIVE”, see the image below. You should also change your name, see how to under point 3 below.
3. Changing name
You can change your name by going to the ‘name-assigning’ channel under “ADMINISTRATIVE”, see the image above. In the channel, simply write “First Name Last Name”, and your name will be changed as soon as it is approved by the administrator.
4. Changing roles
In the “role-assigning” channel, you can select your class, whether you are a chapter member, a committee member, or an international student, and, if relevant, which master’s program you are in. Once you have chosen your class, you will gain access to a channel with all other students in the same class as you.
To be assigned other roles, such as trustee, a specific committee, or reception member, you can contact the webmaster. By being assigned your roles, you will gain access to different channels related to that role.
5. Notifications
The default setting in Discord is that notifications for all channels you have access to are turned on. If you want to disable notifications for a specific channel, follow these steps. Right-click on the channel you want to mute. Then click on “Notification Settings” and select the option you prefer. If you do not want any notifications at all, choose “Nothing”, see the image below.